July 13, 2020

The Queens County Citizen

Complete Canadian News World

NASCAR at Talladega results: Ryan Blaney wins dramatic Geico 500; Bubba Wallace falls just short

NASCAR at Talladega results: Ryan Blaney wins dramatic Geico 500; Bubba Wallace falls just short

Ryan Blaney claimed the Geico 500 at Talladega on Monday afternoon in dramatic fashion, crossing the finish line as a crash occured behind him in overtime.

There were 19 different leaders and 56 lead changes in the NASCAR Cup Series race.

Bubba Wallace, the black driver who had a noose found in his stall on Sunday, was one of the frontrunners and ran as high as third in the final 20 laps before dropping back to 14th due to a fuel shortage.

Sporting News tracked live lap-by-lap updates and highlights from Monday’s NASCAR race at Talladega. Follow below for complete results from the Geico 500.

MORE: Watch today’s NASCAR race live with fuboTV (7-day free trial)

NASCAR at Talladega highlights from Geico 500

All times ET.

7:50 p.m.: RYAN BLANEY WINS IT. There was a wreck behind him but the flag stayed green.

7:47 p.m.: Overtime run order below.

7:40 p.m.: Caution. Harvick and Johnson get tangled up.

7:38 p.m.: Reddick still ahead with five laps to go.

7:37 p.m.: A storybook finish looks like it’s not going to happen here for Wallace.

7:36 p.m.: Wallace is running out of gas. He’s in fourth.

7:34 p.m.: Reddick still holds a narrow advantage at Lap 178.

7:29 p.m.: Well, well, well. This is unexpected.

7:26 p.m.: Alex Bowman is the leader with 20 laps left. Tyler Reddick and Logano are right behind him.

READ  Madden 21 should be joking with its QB rankings of Aaron Rodgers and Tom Brady

7:24 p.m.: Logano is being told to conserve fuel down the stretch.

7:18 p.m.: Wallace is up to fifth place with 30 laps to go.

7:13 p.m.: Byron holds the lead now.

7 p.m.: Another caution comes shortly after the restart.

6:45 p.m.: Chase Elliott crashes and the yellow flag comes out. He was running in fourth place.

6:42 p.m.: Matt Kenseth dips out.

6:29 p.m.: Ricky Stenhouse Jr. wins Stage 2.

6:27 p.m.: Back to green with two laps remaining in Stage 2.

6:20 p.m.: Caution for debris on the track with six laps left in Stage 2.

6:19 p.m.: Weather delays aside, this has been a fun race so far. A whopping 37 lead changes and plenty of nimble maneuvers.

6:11 p.m.: The front of the field is ordered as follows: Blaney, Keselowski, Logano, Stenhouse Jr. and Kyle Busch.

5:59 p.m.: Halfway through the race. That means the result will count, even if every lap isn’t completed.

5:58 p.m.: Wallace has an NFL star in his corner.

5:56 p.m.: As we approach the crucial Lap 94, the forecast is improving. It’s possible a full race is in the cards.

5:53 p.m.: Wallace is up to eighth. He’d been running 15-20 most of the afternoon.

5:33 p.m.: Back to green.

5:14 p.m.: NASCAR is going to give this a go, even though more rain is projected soon.

READ  Madden 21 should be joking with its QB rankings of Aaron Rodgers and Tom Brady

5:03 p.m.: Maybe there’s hope after all?

5:02 p.m.: If this is called off, they would start from scratch tomorrow.

4:43 p.m.: Here’s how the pre-race act of solidarity came together.

4:19 p.m.: Red flag comes out because of the rain.

4:18 p.m.: Hamlin got a flat tire just before the caution and will lose a lap.

4:15 p.m.: Caution for weather. We were just five laps away from the end of Stage 1. Still 38 laps from being an official race.

4:03 p.m.: William Byron takes the lead with 20 laps to go in Stage 1.

3:53 p.m.: An ominous rain update.

3:45 p.m.: Pre-planned competition caution is put into effect. Logano is the current leader.

3:32 p.m.: Joey Logano holds an early lead through 10 laps. He’s followed by Denny Hamlin and Kyle Busch.

3:24 p.m.: Weather remains a concern. Here’s the target for the race to count.

3:24 pm.: Green flag!

3:11 p.m.: Engines fired.

3 p.m.: Really cool image from before the start of the race.

2:40 p.m.: Lots of powerful support for Bubba Wallace from other drivers today.

What time does the NASCAR race start today?

The green flag for Monday’s NASCAR Cup Series race at Talladega will wave shortly after 3 p.m. ET.

The 3 p.m. ET start time for the Talladega race is the second such start time for the Cup Series since it returned to racing last month, with the June 7 race at Atlanta being the other. The July 19 race at Texans and the Aug. 2 race at New Hampshire are the other two events currently confirmed on the NASCAR Cup Series schedule that will start at 3 p.m. ET.

READ  Madden 21 should be joking with its QB rankings of Aaron Rodgers and Tom Brady

NASCAR starting lineup at Talladega

Pos.DriverCar No.Team
1Martin Truex Jr.19Joe Gibbs Racing
2Denny Hamlin11Joe Gibbs Racing
3Kyle Busch18Joe Gibbs Racing
4Jimmie Johnson48Hendrick Motorsports
5Kevin Harvick4Stewart-Haas Racing
6Brad Keselowski2Team Penske
7Kurt Busch1Chip Ganassi Racing
8Alex Bowman88Hendrick Motorsports
9Joey Logano22Team Penske
10Clint Bowyer14Stewart-Haas Racing
11Chase Elliott9Hendrick Motorsports
12Ryan Blaney12Team Penske
13Matt Kenseth42Chip Ganassi Racing
14Ryan Newman6Roush Fenway Racing
15Aric Almirola10Stewart-Haas Racing
16Tyler Reddick8Richard Childress Racing
17Austin Dillon3Richard Childress Racing
18Erik Jones20Joe Gibbs Racing
19William Byron24Hendrick Motorsports
20Ricky Stenhouse Jr.47JTG Daugherty Racing
21Chris Buescher17Roush Fenway Racing
22John Hunter Nemechek38Front Row Motorsports
23Matt DiBenedetto21Wood Brothers Racing
24Bubba Wallace43Richard Petty Motorsports
25Corey LaJoie32Go Fas Racing
26Michael McDowell34Front Row Motorsports
27Brennan Poole15Premium Motorsports
28Cole Custer41Stewart-Haas Racing
29Gray Gaulding27Rick Ware Racing
30BJ McLeod77Spire Motorsports
31Ryan Preece37JTG Daugherty Racing
32Quin Houff00StarCom Racing
33Ty Dillon13Germain Racing
34JJ Yeley53Rick Ware Racing
35Christopher Bell95Leavine Family Racing
36Joey Gase51Petty Ware Racing
37Daniel Suarez96Gaunt Brothers Racing
38Timmy Hill66Motorsports Business Management
39Brendan Gaughan62Beard Motorsports
40Garrett Smithley78B.J. McLeod Motorsports