July 3, 2022

The Queens County Citizen

Complete Canadian News World

1st slate of ECMAs handed out forward of Saturday’s most important occasion

First slate of ECMAs handed out ahead of Saturday's main event

The to start with slate of winners at the East Coastline Songs Awards observed Wintersleep and Tim Baker arrive out forward, whilst all four Atlantic provinces ended up very well represented.

Twenty-9 awards ended up introduced as aspect of a pre-awards exhibit which streamed on the internet Friday afternoon, in advance of the key televised broadcast Saturday evening.

Longtime indie-rock favourite Wintersleep from Nova Scotia took house equally group and rock recording titles of the year for their seventh album, In The Land Of.

They also gained song of the 12 months for the track Beneficiary.

“I consider it is really generally exciting, and like ECMA’s is a actually unique function for us,” stated band member Paul Murphy on Saturday.

“It is really a great factor for the for the market by itself below, you will find so a great deal adore poured into it from all these individuals.”

Just after several years of showing up on ECMA lists with the ensemble Hey Rosetta!, Newfoundland’s Tim Baker introduced property two awards for his debut solo album.

Baker received people recording of the calendar year for Endlessly Overhead, and video of the 12 months for the song All Palms.


Dave Sampson of Halifax nabbed two ECMAs, his initially, together with rising star recording and greatest country recording of the calendar year for his album All Styles of Techniques.

Jazz pianist Florian Hoefner of Newfoundland also took property two awards for Initial Spring: instrumental and jazz recordings of the calendar year.

From Prince Edward Island, the East Ideas received modern day roots recording for their most up-to-date album Yours to Crack, and Summerside-born Paul Bernard received a Stompin’ Tom award Saturday early morning.

READ  Here's the new co - host of the week that ends well

The Excellent Grand Band from Newfoundland was also identified for their contributions to Canada’s songs scene with a Stompin’ Tom award as well.

April Wine’s Myles Goodwyn, born in New Brunswick and elevated in Nova Scotia, took residence blues recording of the 12 months for Myles Goodwyn and Good friends of the Blues 2.

Also from New Brunswick, celebrated soprano Measha Brueggergosman received the Directors’ Specific Accomplishment Award, though The East took house media outlet of the yr.

Other genre awards involved Abundant Aucoin’s Release for electronic recording of the 12 months, Neon Dreams taking pop recording with Sweet Desires Until Sunbeams, R&B/soul recording to Laura Roy for Forte, and Jacobus (Radio Radio’s Jacques Alphonse Doucet) likely solo to acquire rap/hip-hop recording with Caviar.

Neon Goals took house pop recording of the year. (ECMA)

In the sector awards, CBC’s Bill Roach of Weekend Mornings took property media human being of the year, while Celtic Colors International Festival won celebration of the 12 months and St. John’s Ship Pub won venue of the calendar year.

The 2020 ECMAs will air Saturday at 9 p.m. /9:30 NT on CBC Tv and CBC Gem.

The comprehensive checklist of winners can be found below:


  • Blues Recording of the Year: Myles Goodwyn – Myles Goodwyn and Pals of the Blues 2
  • Classical Recording of the Calendar year: Marc Djokic – Solo 7
  • Modern day Roots Recording of the Calendar year: The East Ideas – Yours to Split
  • Region Recording of the Yr: Dave Sampson – All Styles of Strategies
  • Dance Recording of the Calendar year: Famba – Swear to God
  • Digital Recording of the Yr: Abundant Aucoin – Launch
  • Folks Recording of the Calendar year: Tim Baker – Eternally Overhead
  • Group Recording of the Yr: Wintersleep – In The Land Of
  • Inspirational Recording of the Yr: Ian Foster and Nancy Hynes – A Week in December
  • Instrumental Recording of the Year: Florian Hoefner – 1st Spring
  • Jazz Recording of the Calendar year: Florian Hoefner – 1st Spring
  • Loud Recording of the Year: Spirit of the Wildfire – Bittersweet Nothings
  • Pop Recording of the Yr: Neon Dreams – Sweet Goals Until Sunbeams
  • Rap/Hip-Hop Recording of the Yr: Jacobus – Caviar
  • R&B/Soul Recording of the Year: Laura Roy – Forte
  • Growing Star Recording of the Yr: Dave Sampson – All Sorts of Methods
  • Rock Recording of the Yr: Wintersleep – In The Land Of
  • Music of the Calendar year: Wintersleep – Beneficiary (Producers: Tony Doogan, Wintersleep)


  • Corporation of the 12 months: The Syrup Factory
  • Celebration of the 12 months: Celtic Colours International Competition
  • Graphic/Media Artist of the 12 months: Deep Hollow Print
  • Management/Supervisor of the 12 months: Jones & Co.
  • Media Outlet of the Calendar year: The East
  • Media Human being of the Yr: Invoice Roach
  • Producer of the Yr: Daniel Ledwell
  • Studio of the Calendar year: Soundpark Studios
  • Studio Engineer of the Year: Thomas Stajcer
  • Venue of the Calendar year: The Ship Pub
  • Movie of the Yr: Tim Baker – All Hands (Director: Jordan Canning)

A few recipients of the ECMA’s 2020 Honorary Awards, introduced earlier this 7 days, were being also celebrated for the duration of the electronic pre-present:

Directors’ Particular Achievement Award: Measha Brueggergosman

Field Builder Award: Tony Murray

Musician’s Accomplishment Award: Kelly Russell

The Dr. Helen Creighton Life span Accomplishment Award will be presented to Shanneyganock on Saturday’s televised broadcast.