March 31, 2023

The Queens County Citizen

Complete Canadian News World

Canada has announced a list of 25 people for the 2021 World Junior Hockey Championship

Canada has announced a list of 25 people for the 2021 World Junior Hockey Championship

Hockey Canada has announced the list of 25 people who will retain gold at the 2021 World Junior Hockey Championships.

The list was selected from an original pool of 46 players who attended a selection camp at Red Deer in Alta, which opened in late November. After two players tested positive for COVID-19, the camp was interrupted by detention for two weeks and resumed earlier this week with two final introsquad games to help determine the final cuts.

“This camp is exceptional from the start, due to our two-week shutdown due to schedule adjustment, the number of invited players and the length of the camp, but we think we have chosen a group that gives us the best chance to retain our gold medal on home ice,” said Program of Excellence Management Group. U20 lead Alan Miller said in a statement: “When every player faces adversity, challenge and adheres to this process through our off-ice workouts and zoom sessions, reducing the roster is not so easy.

“Many thanks to us, including the Red Deer, Red Deer Rebels (WHL) and the people of the Alberta Health Services, who have always worked with us to ensure the health of our athletes, staff and the safety of the community, and we look forward to representing Canada in Edmonton.”

The list includes 14 forwards, eight defenders and three goalscorers, with six players returning from last year’s gold medal winning team. Six out of a total of 14 forwards and eight defenders are first-round picks in the NHL.

READ  Amazing Mahrez goal against Everton

Nine players were cut on Friday as part of the final listing: forward Seth Jarvis, Maverick Bork, Samuel Pauline, Jamison Reese, Graeme Clark and Gage Goncalves; And defensemen Donovan Sebrango, Lucas Carmier and Ryan O’Rourke.

All 10 teams competing in the tournament will have to report to Edmonton, where the tournament will be hosted in a bubble similar to this summer’s NHL playoffs, with the pre – tournament game starting next weekend. Canada kicks off the tournament with Germany on December 26.

Below is the full list of players who will represent Canada in this year’s tournament.


Kirby Dutch, Connor Issue, Dylan Holloway, Cole Perfetti, Jacob Pelletier, Alex Newhook, Ryan Suzuki, Connor McMichael, Peyton Krebs, Quinton Bifield, Dawson Mercer, Dylan Cogens, Philip Tomasino, Jack Quinn


Braden Schneider, Kaidan Korzak, Bowen Byram, Thomas Harley, Jamie Driesndale, Jordan Spence, Kaiden Guhle, Justin Barron


Devon Levy, Taylor Gautier, Dylan Garand