May 22, 2022

The Queens County Citizen

Complete Canadian News World

Virus: Belgium ends with additional community members from the United Kingdom

Virus: Belgium ends with additional community members from the United Kingdom

Brussels | In an effort to limit the spread of the coronavirus variant, Belgium will ban the entry of non-civilian travelers from the United Kingdom to European Union countries, postponing the lifting of the final sanctions on London and England.

Also read: Brazil has crossed the 500,000 dead limit

Also read: Kovid-19: New record of cases for the second day in a row in Moscow

The United Kingdom (4,620,968 cases, 127,970 deaths) is on the 27-nation list aimed at closing Belgium’s borders, which John Eckmans told AFP on Saturday. Health Minister Frank spokesman Vandenbroke.

Belgium (1,078,679 cases, including 25,125) is concerned about the delta variant, which originated in India and led to an increase in Covid-19 cases on British soil, with 21 in England (each country having its own calendar) to the point of lifting the latest restriction measures scheduled for June Fell.

By strengthening the Belgian measures already applied to South Africa, India and Brazil, only EU citizens and Belgian residents from listed countries can enter Belgium. And they must adhere to strict detention rules and undergo screening tests.

Exceptions to this ban: Diplomats on the required mission and transport personnel, the government said.

According to the latest statistics, the delta variant represents 6.1% pollution in Belgium at this stage, although some studies indicate that the actual rate is higher.

Travelers from the United Kingdom are expected to enter Belgium before the measures announced on Saturday come into effect.

The decision to tighten sanctions on people from 27 countries was taken at a meeting of the government committee responsible for the fight against Kovid-19 on Friday and will be published in an official journal in the coming days.

READ  Prime Day 2020 Lightning Deal: 65-inch Sony A8G OLED TV $ 1,500

The list includes only the UK and Georgia in Europe, including Botswana, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Jordan, Qatar, Nepal, Bolivia, Paraguay, Chile, Uruguay, Trinidad and Tobago, Colombia, Bangladesh, Uganda and Argentina. , Zimbabwe, Eswatini, Lesotho, Namibia, Mozambique, Suriname, Peru and Pakistan.