July 3, 2022

The Queens County Citizen

Complete Canadian News World

Ontario election: Doug Ford majority, two leaders resign

Ms. Horwath was chief in his fourth election. She was re-elected At the Riding of Hamilton Center, she has held a seat since 2004.

NDP leader Andrea Horvath was in her speech after being elected in her riding

Photo: Radio-Canada

The Liberal Party and its new leader wanted to recover from the catastrophic defeat in 2018. They could not even regain official party status in Queens Park.

Steven del Duca lost again By Progressive Conservative Michael Tibolo, Associate Minister for Mental Health and Addictions. Mr. Tibolo defeated Mr. del Duca in 2018 by a margin of nearly 8,000 votes.

Liberal leader Steven del Duca made the announcement on June 1 in Toronto.

Liberal leader Steven del Duca

Photo: Canadian Press / Aaron Vincent Elkime

Doug Ford, for his part, was re-elected unopposed at Etobicoke North Riding, west of Toronto.

When Doug Ford was re-elected in the Etobicoke North Riding.

After Doug Ford was re-elected in the Atobiccock North Riding

Photo: Radio-Canada

On the other hand, the political spectrum in the Toronto and Hamilton-Niagara region is almost identical.

Only four of the 36 rides changed political color, much to the surprise of Haldimand-Norfolk, where Bobby Ann Brady became the first independent candidate to be elected MPP since 1995.

In York Southwestern, progressive Conservative Michael Ford joins his uncle, a certain Doug Ford, in Queens Park. He defeated the current NDP MP Faisal Hasan.

The Progressive Conservative Party has won virtually every riding in the Toronto Belt, as it is often called 905.

He has already won 26 seats in 30 constituencies. But he also fired New Democratic Party (NDP) deputy leaders Sara Singh and Gurrat Singh.

Only New Democrat Jennifer French retained her seat in Oshawa.

READ  Lac-Mégantic | In Bypass Agreement between Ottawa and the Canadian Pacific

Always only one green color

Green Party (PVO) leader Mike Shriner became the province’s first Green MP, winning his Gulf seat again.

Mike Shriner, the leader of the Green Party in his statement after the 2022 regional election.

Mike Schreiner, the Green Party leader in his statement after the 2022 regional election.

Photo: Radio-Canada

However, despite campaigning hard for the candidate in Matt Richter, Greens failed to elect a second MP for Parry Sound-Muscoca. It was the Mayor of Bracebridge, Graydon Smith, who won under the Conservative banner.

Even in the north

Doug Ford was on his way to making a profit at the expense of the New Democratic Party in northern Ontario.

Timmins Mayor George Pierre defeated longtime MP Gilles Bisson.

Addressed by George Pierre.

Elected MP to George Pierre Timmins.

Photo: Radio-Canada / Christoph Simard

In Thunder Bay-Aticocon, Progressive Conservative Kevin Hollande is ahead of current NDP MP Judith Monteith-Farrell.

The NDP, however, is on track to profit from neighboring Thunder Bay-Superior North Riding at the expense of the Liberals.

Elsewhere, the parties have so far been able to retain their seats.

Stability in the eastern part of the province

In the eastern part of the province, the political landscape must remain the same.

However, at the Glengary-Prescott-Russell Riding, Progressive Conservative Stefan Sarrazin defeated defender Amanda Simard.

It is no surprise that the Liberal candidate Stephen Blaise won the Orleans Riding by a huge margin in his election. In Ottawa-Vanier, Liberal candidate Lucille Collard was also re-elected.

John Fraser, a former interim leader of the Ontario Liberal Party (OLP) and a candidate in the Ottawa South, has also returned to power.

At Ottawa Center Riding, New Democrat Joel Harden won for the second time.

READ  The UK and EU extended Brexit talks on Sunday

No change in western Ottawa either. Minister of Children, Community and Social Services Merrill Fullerton was easily re-elected in Canada-Carleton, while Progressive Conservative candidate Goldie Ghamari won in Carleton Riding.

In eastern Ontario, Nolan Quinn, the Progressive Conservative candidate for the Stormont-Dundas-Glengary-South Riding, was elected early in the evening.

Changing guard on the southwest

The Progressive Conservative Party made two major gains by taking Windsor-Techumsey and Essex riding from the NDP in southwestern Ontario.

Andrew Dovey won easily in Windsor-Tekumse with 45.5% of the vote. In Essex, Anthony Leardi was also able to win the confidence of 46.6% of voters.

On the Windsor West side, New Democrat Lisa Gretzky, who has represented the Riding since 2014, was re-elected with 41.8% of the vote.

A woman reporter with a red sweater answers questions

Lisa Gretzky wins again in Windsor West.

Photo: Elvis Nouemsi Njike

Elsewhere, voters chose stability. In Chatham-Kent-Leamington, Trevor Jones, another Progressive Conservative, was expelled from the Caucasus in 2021 for defeating Rick Nichols, elected in 2011 under the Conservative banner, and refusing to receive a COVID-19 shot. 19.

In Sarnia-Lampton, surprisingly, Progressive Conservative Bob Bailey, who has represented riding since 2007, was re-elected, while Labor Minister Monte McNaughton was re-elected with 58.2% in the Lambton-Kent-Middlesex.

Radio-Canada announces the selection of candidates based on estimates based on a certain number of criteria. Official results will be confirmed by the Ontario election.