June 7, 2023

The Queens County Citizen

Complete Canadian News World

Riyadh Mahrez and Manchester City are officially champions

Riyadh Mahrez and Manchester City are officially champions

Following Manchester United’s defeat to Leicester City, Riyadh Mahrez’s Manchester City officially emerged champions for the 2020/2021 season.

At the personal level, Riyadh Mahrez won his third Premier League title, becoming only the third African player to win the league trophy three times in their career after Didier Drogba (4 times with Chelsea) and Yaya Tour (3 with Manchester City).

The Sky Blues have won their seventh Premier League title in their history, three days since the end of the championship ten points over United. Sheikh Mansour’s owner since 2008, the Mankunian club has won its fourth title since passing under the Emirati flag. Pep Guardiola’s players, who got off to a bad start at the start of the season with 13th place on Day 9, were able to increase their level of play by controlling the championship in late January.

Thanks to strategic adjustments and newcomer defensive strength, the Citizens have won fifteen in a row and are the best defender in the championship, scoring 26 goals this season. The Greens captain has scored nine goals and is a major performer in providing four assists in 25 games played.

Manchester City, winners of the FA Cup and Community Shield, are in a historic four-time competition, with a view to a Champions League final against Chelsea on May 29 in Istanbul.


READ  Beautiful puck by Eric Stall