December 8, 2022

The Queens County Citizen

Complete Canadian News World

Indy500: In the big leagues

Indy500: In the big leagues

Helio Castronovs joined the big leagues by winning the Indianapolis 500 on Sunday for the fourth time in his career.

After the legends of the distinguished AJ Foyt, Al Anser Sr. and Rick Myers, the Brazilian veteran is only the fourth rider in history to achieve this feat.

Mayor Shank took the lead with just two laps to go at the expense of Castronews Spaniard Alex Palov, who was hired as a freelance writer for the racing team, who beat him by half a second on arrival.

Frenchman Simon Pagenad, a former Castronovs teammate at Penskew and the winner of this annual classic in 2019, finished third.


After this unexpected victory, Castronevs left his car and climbed the fence in front of the main stand, his habit.

“I love racing in Indianapolis,” the 46-year-old said. I would especially like to thank my team for trusting me. Words fail to describe my feelings. “

… nicknamed Spider-Man, he greeted an early-winning audience a year after performing a fire test behind closed doors due to the epidemic.

“Te enthusiasts inspired me and they gave me so much energy. It was so inspiring to see them again in such a large number.”

This memorable success was watched by approximately 135,000 spectators. Assistance representing 40 per cent of the total capacity of the famous motorsport complex.

The fastest in history

Only two yellow flags, on record, are marked by this 105E The Indianapolis Edition is the fastest in 500 miles of history.

Castronovs finished his run in 2 hours, 37 minutes, 19 seconds, two minutes before the previous mark set by native Tony Conan in 2013.

READ  Could the Buffalo Bills dominate the AFC East for a decade?

Earlier, the winner set a record with the second win in 20 years. True, his first success was in 2001. He also won in 2002 and 2009.

Too bad for Dixon

Leading scorer Scott Dixon could not stay in first place for long.

New Zealand saw his hopes of winning the race for the second time (after 2008), at his first stop at the fuel tank, when he suffered a fuel supply problem.

Initially the race was in vain for the two Canadians. James Hinchcliffe was 21stE 40 seconds ahead of the rank leader, Dalton Kellet had to make 23 runsE The place also gives the winner a round.

Quadruple Indy 500 winners

  • AJ Foyt: 1961, 1964, 1967 and 1977
  • Al Ansar Father: 1970, 1971, 1978 and 1987
  • Rick Myers: 1979, 1984, 1988 and 1991
  • Helio Castronevs: 2001, 2002, 2009 and 2021

See also